Skip to main content

THE CHARLATANS proudly announce their (Covid) delayed release of their 30th Anniversary tour and a 6 vinyl LP Box Set. Released on Then Recordings through Republic Of Music, ‘A Head Full Of Ideas’ is a five album, and exclusive 7”, career-spanning box set that sums up their remarkable progress from 1990 Manchester scene hopefuls to one of the UK’s most enduring and best-loved bands. The accompanying tour begins at Belfast, Limelight 22/11/21 and finishes in Aberdeen on 20/12/21.

The band have notched up 13 Top 40 studio albums – three of them number ones – alongside 22 hit singles, four of them top 10. The rollercoaster highs have been accompanied by some shattering lows, any which one of them could have felled a less resilient band, from nervous breakdowns to near bankruptcy and the deaths of two founder members

Somehow, they have not just carried on but adapted and transformed. The classic Charlatans sound – driving Hammond organ, Northern Soul and house-influenced rhythms, swaggering guitars and Tim Burgess’s sunny yet somehow yearning vocal – is instantly recognisable. And in spite of everything they have been through their music is now more relevant than ever, The Guardian described their last album, Different Days as “one of their best ever”.

This limited box set, is a diverse collection portrayed over five Transparent blue vinyl LP’s, spanning their hits, classic live performances, unheard demo’s and rarities and remixes. Within the box will also be an exclusive Original Demo’s 7” featuring ‘Indian Rope’/’The Only One I Know’, as well as a signed print of a tour poster from the early 90’s, a booklet featuring unseen photographs and sleeve notes by friend and journalist Dave Simpson. There will also be triple vinyl LP version and 2CD deluxe of the box set featuring the hits albums plus the live album, and finally a cd or vinyl of just the hits albums.

Their iconic and hugely adored live track One To Another (circa 1997) provides the titles for the individual vinyl collection within the box set. Each piece of vinyl is named after a lyric from the song.

A Head Full of Ideas Tracklist

1 A1) The Only One I Know
2 A2) Weirdo
3 A3) Can’t Get out of Bed
4 A4) Jesus Hairdo
5 A5) Just When You’re Thinking Things Over
6 A6) North Country Boy
7 B1) Tellin’ Stories
8 B2) One to Another
9 B3) How High
10 B4) Forever
11 B5) Impossible
12 C1) Love is the Key
13 C2) A Man Needs to be Told
14 C3) Up at The Lake
15 C4) Blackened Blue Eyes
16 C5) Oh Vanity
17 D1) My Foolish Pride
18 D2) Come Home Baby
19 D3) Let the Good Times be Never Ending
20 D4) Plastic Machinery
21 D5) Totally Eclipsing

Pre-order the box set now for October 15th!!