Skip to main content

Turin Brakes critically acclaimed debut album ‘The Optimist LP’ gets the re-issue treatment to celebrate its 20th Anniversary. The ground breaking long player, originally released in 2001 features classic tracks such as ‘Underdog (Save Me)’, ’The Door’ and ‘Feeling Oblivion’.
’The Optimist LP’ will be re-released on Deluxe 2LP & 2CD on TwoPiers, a new Brighton label, now with a Bonus album of ‘Demos’ from the original sessions and New Artwork. The Album has been out of print on Vinyl for many years now. 

It’s one of those albums. Like ‘Parachutes’, for some, we suppose. But then listening to Coldplay instead of Turin Brakes is like the [I]Almost Famous[/I] generation choosing Don McLean over Tim Buckley. One’s comforting, familiar, pretty; the other strikes at your soul. And it’s a special kind of record which can encourage [I]and[/I] soundtrack such introspection, without losing its edge to indulgent miserabilism  – NME

Olly Knights’ vocals mix Jeff Buckley moan and Marc Bolan hiss. The songs are simple, emotional, and earnest…., and they’re laden with Everly Brothers harmonies  – Pitchfork

The Optimist



A1 Feeling Oblivion         
A2 Underdog (Save Me)
A3 Emergency 72    
A4 Future Boy     
A5 The Door   
A6 State Of Things       
B1 By TV Light   
B2 Slack       
B3 Starship       
B4 The Road    
B5 Mind Over Money        
B6 The Optimist        


C1 Feeling Oblivion – Demo
C2 Underdog (Save Me) – Demo
C3 Emergency 72 – Demo
C4 Future Boy -Original Version.
C5 The Door – Original Version
C6 State Of Things – Demo
D1 By TV Light – Original Version
D2 Slack – Demo
D3 Starship – Demo
D4 The Road – Demo
D5 Mind Over Money- Demo
D6 The Optimist – Demo 




1 Feeling Oblivion         
2 Underdog (Save Me)
3 Emergency 72    
4 Future Boy     
5 The Door   
6 State Of Things       
7 By TV Light   
8 Slack       
10 The Road    
11 Mind Over Money        
12 The Optimist        


1 Feeling Oblivion – Demo
2 Underdog (Save Me) – Demo
3 Emergency 72 – Demo
4 Future Boy -Original Version.
5 The Door – Original Version
6 State Of Things – Demo
7 By TV Light – Original Version
8 Slack – Demo
Starship – Demo
10 The Road – Demo
11 Mind Over Money- Demo
12 The Optimist – Demo