Skip to main content

Sunflower Bean have announced new album “Headful of Sugar“; to be released on 6th May 2022 via Lucky Number 

Headful of Sugar – Available on CD, LP (black), and LPX (orange)


  1. Who Put You Up To This? 
  2. In Flight 
  3. Otherside
  4. Roll The Dice 
  5. Headful of Sugar 
  6. I Don’t Have Control Sometimes 
  7. Stand By Me 
  8. Post Love 
  9. Baby Don’t Cry 
  10. Beat The Odds 
  11. Feel Somebody

New York trio Sunflower Bean – vocalist and bassist Julia Cumming (she/her), guitarist and vocalist Nick Kivlen (he/him), and drummer Olive Faber (she/they) – announce that their long-awaited third album Headful of Sugar will be released on May 6 via Lucky Number.   

A psychedelic headrush, fuelled by the agony and ecstasy of contemporary American life, Headful of Sugar is about outsiders disillusioned with the modern world who, despite their alienation, refuse to be subdued; buoyed by the relief found in interpersonal relationships that counteract the daily barrage of cheap entertainment and convenience. 

If their acclaimed second album Twentytwo in Blue, released in 2018, was a self-described “ode to the fleeting innocence of youth,” then Headful of Sugar shoves the listener into a new, dangerous world, one that is less safe but also less suffocating. “Tomorrow is not promised, no tour is promised, no popularity is promised, no health or money is promised,” bassist/vocalist Julia Cumming says. “Why not make what you want to make on your own terms? Why not make a record that makes you want to dance? Why not make a record that makes you want to scream?” 

Headful of Sugar was produced and mixed by UMO’s Jacob Portrait, co-engineered by Olive Faber and Portrait, and recorded between Electric Lady and Sunflower Bean Studios. 

Find Sunflower Bean here