Record of the Week- CLUTCH – Book of Bad Decisions

By September 11, 2018 Music

Book of Bad Decisions, CLUTCH’s 12th studio album is OUT NOW via their own Weathermaker Music label.

The album was recorded at Sputnik Sound in Nashville, TN by producer Vance Powell (Jack White, Chris Stapleton, The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather) and consists of 15 new tracks.

Stream // Buy Here

CLUTCH rides its own wave of nostalgia, “playing for children of corn” on the gristly opener, “Gimme the Keys”. This is the dirtiest CLUTCH has sounded in quite some time and the knotty vibe rolls into the swollen distortion lurching throughout “Spirit of ’76” and the grubby funk of the title cut. Dan Maines‘s bass on the latter is especially nasty, along with Tim Sult‘s mud-bombed guitar solos. By the time you reach “Hot Bottom Feeder”, toward the rear of the album, if your ear canals aren’t feeling violated by these guys, they’ll scream rapture.

– Blabbermouth

Read More


01. Gimme the Keys
02. Spirit of ’76
03. Book of Bad Decisions
04. How to Shake Hands
05. In Walks Barbarella
06. Vision Quest
07. Weird Times
08. Emily Dickinson
09. Sonic Counselor
10. A Good Fire
11. Ghoul Wrangler
12. H.B. Is in Control
13. Hot Bottom Feeder
14. Paper & Strife
15. Lorelei